Duck’s Quick Tips : Intro

While going about my daily business (mainly coding in Unity 3D), unless we’re going through some sort of crunch point at work, I often spend a little bit of time each day “sharpening my saw“. That is, doing something that’s not directly related to the current main job, but theoretically makes me better at doing my job.

Sometimes it’s looking into a section of the manual or API that I’m less familiar with. Sometimes it’s reading up on developments in the technologies that surround my field of work. Sometimes it’s helping out with a question or two on the Unity forums, or the IRC channel (which are both places that I go looking for help myself too, sometimes). This often results in “saw-sharpening” because my favourite type of questions are the ones where I sort of know the answer, but I have to quickly look up / test out that knowledge to confirm it. This has the effect of hardening what was vague knowledge of a particlar area into a small chunk of concrete experience, which effectively adds to the array of tools and know-how that I have at my disposal when approaching my own work.

In this new “Quick Tips” category, I’m going to be documenting these short & sweet nuggets of information. In effect, this is a kind of excuse to get a bit more content posted here in the tiny amounts of spare time that I have. They won’t be full tutorials, they might not be useful to everyone, and they will almost certainly vary wildly between beginner and advanced levels – but if you’re interested in the occasional sharpening of your Unity blade, please feel free to subscribe or follow!

One Response to “Duck’s Quick Tips : Intro”

  1. i think you spend much more on unity answeres. 🙂 one or two questions? dear duck, i recently created a blog, take a look at it and tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

