Yard Invaders 2 : experimental prototype

Well, my “Procedural Racer” game has been taxiing for launch for quite a while now – as soon as it’s ready I will be posting here. In the meantime, here’s a video of an experimental gameplay prototype I put together, as a possible sequel to one of my very old 2D shockwave games called “Yard Invaders”.

I tried out a number of new things while putting this together, including:

  • Procedurally generated spherical terrain
  • Spherical gravity
  • Custom grass shader
  • Depth of field effects
  • Explosion effects (not detonator)
  • Intuitive auto-targeting of enemies

Whether this ever makes it to the status of a finished game remains subject to the mysterious tides of fate.

5 Responses to “Yard Invaders 2 : experimental prototype”

  1. Very cool. Watching it made me feel a bit dizzy.

    I’d love to hear more about the technical nuts and bolts (for example, what you used for character control, and how you implemented the spherical gravity).

  2. hi
    please talk more about technical details of what you did in your posts.

  3. This would make a great GodFinger style game! Can your terrain sphere be modified during run-time?

  4. Friedrich Says:

    Hey Dude ^_^

    I think this spherical gravity thingy is prety awesome !!!! I had a look for some code myself … but I didn’t got it to work :(

    Could you tell me how you did it by any chance?

    That would be awesome!!!

    Cheers!

  5. This seems to be a while ago, but we are trying to figure out the spherical terrain in Unity and I would love your help on this. can you contact me? spencer at spencerbuchanan.com

    very cool prototype.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

